Blackmores
I-Folic
95/100
SUPPIE SCORE
95/100
EFFICACY
High
SAFETY
98/100
CLEANLINESS
What Does I-Folic Do?
Blackmores I-Folic provides optimal dosages of folic acid and iodine for pregnancy support, backed by strong evidence for foetal development. Safe for most with no allergens, but consult doctor for thyroid issues or medications.
What are the recommended daily intakes for folic acid and iodine during pregnancy?
How does this supplement support neural tube development in fetuses?
Are there any dietary sources that can provide similar levels of folic acid and iodine?
Chat with Suppie
What Are the Benefits of I-Folic?
Based on proven scientific research
Healthy foetal developmentVery strong
Neural tube defect preventionVery strong
Thyroid function supportStrong
Good For:
What Are the Side Effects of Blackmores I-Folic?
Always consult your health practitioner if in doubt.
RiskLow Risk
Overview
•Folic acid at 500mcg is well within safe limits (UL 1000mcg/day) and supports pregnancy without excess risk for healthy adults.
•Iodine from potassium iodide (150mcg) aligns with pregnancy RDA (220mcg/day) and poses low risk unless thyroid conditions exist; consult physician.
•Suitable for pregnancy when dietary intake is inadequate, but advise doctor of any medications, especially in first trimester.
•No added allergens like gluten, yeast, or milk derivatives reduce sensitivity risks; ideal for those with common intolerances.
•Store below 30°C to maintain stability; no known contamination issues with Blackmores manufacturing standards.
•Long-term use safe at one tablet daily, but monitor for hypervitaminosis if combining with multivitamins.
Potential Side Effects
Negative Interactions
Inactive Ingredients
No added yeast, gluten, wheat, milk derivatives, preservatives, artificial flavours or sweeteners
Low RiskWhat Are the Ingredients in Blackmores I-Folic?
Folic acid
500 mcg
Potassium iodide (iodine 150 micrograms)
196.2 mcg
No added yeast, gluten, wheat, milk derivatives, preservatives, artificial flavours or sweeteners
Dosage & Bioavailability
How the active doses and forms in I-Folic compare to the research.
•Folic acid — amount not stated on the label.
•Potassium iodide (iodine 150 micrograms) — amount not stated on the label.
Sources & References
Frequently Asked Questions
Common questions about Blackmores I-Folic